Kent Young Chef Award

 

KYC-Header-15-No-Headers-1024x304

The Kent Young Chef Award Competition is a competition for 11-16 year olds. The competition advertises the great products you can get in Kent. You can get so much great produce in Kent but nobody knows about it! The competition entitled that you had to create a main course dish utilizing Kent ingredients. You then send an application with your recipe, a photo and a brief description of what winning the competition would mean to you. The recipes then get judged by the judging panel (this included celebrity Chef Richard Phillips). Out of all the applicants 8 finalists get chosen. Four for the senior and four juniors. Then you get to the live cook off.

KYCC
All of the junior & senior finalists with Graham Garrett, Tony Blake and Ewan Simpson.

The live cook off took place at West Kent College and it was absolutely amazing. It was my first time in a professional kitchen and it felt right. I loved the feel of the professional kitchen; I loved the atmosphere created. I know it sounds weird but I just loved everything about the kitchen. I can’t describe the feeling! We had some help from the students from West Kent College. They showed us where everything was and how to use the equipment- without them I think I might of looked like a headless chicken!- just sayin’

Anyway… The two hours we had to prepare and present our dish went by in a flash. I am serious! Two hours seems like a lot but it really isn’t! I cooked my dish and with shaking hands presenting my dish of Pan Roasted Pork With a Caramelized Onion and Plum Cider Sauce served with Herb Scalloped Potatoes

To meet the brief of using Kent ingredients I used Glover farm pork and Pine Trees farm cider (Duddatuns)- I defiantly would suggest them. They are fantastic!

I had lots and lots of support from my family and friends. My Mum, Dad and my catering teacher- Sarah Vince all came to support me on the day off the live cook off. Whilst we had lunch we were all very nervous for the result! I didn’t think I stood a chance. All the finalists dishes were so good and I was just grateful for the chance to take part in the competition. When they announced that I HAD WON.  The shock on my face must of been hilarious. But I had done it! I had won! Little old me. I had Won!

I think I am still shocked that I had won because all the contestants in my age groups dishes were so complex and to be perfectly honest I didn’t think I stood a chance.  Taking part in this competition has got to be one of the most or the most unbelievable experiences I have ever done! I really hope it boosts me for my future career!

One Comment Add yours

  1. What a lovely blog you’ve got going here Lillie, keep it up it will serve you as a great chronology of your career in the future!

    Like

Leave a Reply

