Eton Mess Sundae

Like meringue? Like Shortbread? Like summer fruits paired with whipped cream? Pair all those elements together and BAM! You have my new dessert Eton Mess Sundae! PLUS IT IS NO BAKE! YOU DON’T EVEN HAVE TO SWITCH ON AN OVEN IT IS THAT EASY.

I love this recipe because of the colours of the fruit. It looks so pretty! The dark red of the raspberries, redcurrants and strawberries and the purpley blackness of the blackberries really contrast with the pale white of the cream. It just shows nature is gorgeous! In fact I would say it looks BEAUTIFUL!

The inspiration came from Jamie Oliver’s Cranakan recipe. I was casually late at night procrastinating  researching recipes and I came across this Scottish dessert. It looked so good I had to try it but… I didn’t like it. I liked the fruity element to the dish- summer fruits are my absolute favorite any time of the year! But I didn’t like the oats and I didn’t like the flavours used it was just so.. urgh! So I decided to pair two desserts together- the humble Cranakan and the oh so sweet Eton Mess.

For this recipe I used homemade orange shortbread because I used orange as a flavour in the fruit mixture. If you don’t like orange then don’t use it! It is that simple. If you are making this dessert for adults; try adding a splash of booze into the cream mixture for that nice kick! Try to match the alcohol with the flavours in your dessert; for example because I used orange as a flavor in my Sundae I would use an orange flavor liquor like Tequila. If you don’t want to make your own shortbread use shop bought- it will taste just as good! I totally cheated and used shop bought meringues because I couldn’t be bothered to separate a ton of eggs and waste the yolks! Making meringue effort- I mean seriously!

Skill Level: Beginner

Prep-Time: 15-20 mins

Serves: 4 Large Sundae Glasses

Ingredients:

IMGA0296

  • 500g Frozen or fresh Summer fruits (raspberries, blackberries, strawberries and redcurrants etc)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • Orange
  • 150ml Double Cream
  • 2 tbsp Caster Sugar
  • 150 ml Natural Yoghurt (low fats fine!)
  • Roughly 4 meringue nests
  • Roughly 5-6 Shortbread biscuits (or any biscuit you like)
  • Fresh Fruit to garnish- I used a mixture of fresh raspberries, blackberries and blueberries.

Method:

  1. Into a medium sized saucepan add your fruit and the honey. grate the zest of the orange in (using the finest edge of the grater). You can add the juice of  the orange if you want a more intense flavour.
  2. Put onto a low heat and simmer until the fruit is defrosted and soft. The juice should be coming out.
  3. Meanwhile, pour your double cream into a medium sized mixing bowl. Add the sugar and whisk until stiff peaks are formed.Then fold in the yoghurt and the liquor (if using) until combined
  4. Next, into a ziplock bag pour your shortbread. Seal them up and bash away with a rolling pin. This is great for anger! You want fine crumbs.
  5. Do the same with your meringue- for my meringue I went for coarse crumbs!
  6. Your fruit should be done by now. Using a slotted spoon fish out the lumps of fruit and put into a container. It is fine if a few pieces are left in there.
  7. Put the fruit sauce back onto a low heat and reduce down until a syrup is formed.
  8. Once your syrup is formed add your fruit back in and stir to combine. leave to cool slightly (you don’t want it piping hot otherwise the cream will split).
  9. Now for construction. Get yourself a tall glass; I used a sundae glass. Spoon in 3-4 tsp of the fruit with the syrup.
  10. Next add the cream mixture about 3-4 tsps.
  11. Sprinkle some of the crushed shortbread and meringue on top.
  12. Then repeat until the glass is full- once you reach the top I like to spoon over some of the syrup!
  13. Garnish with fresh fruit and icing sugar… leave in the fridge until ready to serve.

Check out my YouTube Channel:

Please like, share and Subscribe!

 

 

Leave a Reply

